Not signed in (Sign In)

Categories

Welcome, Guest

Want to take part in these discussions? If you have an account, sign in now.

If you don't have an account, apply for one now.

Vanilla 1.0.3 is a product of Lussumo. More Information: Documentation, Community Support.

• CommentAuthorBomilkar
    • CommentTimeAug 23rd 2008 edited

Hi everybody,

two months ago, I graduated from Bonn University, Germany, with a teacher's degree in English and Latin. Part of the final exams was writing a final thesis in one of your subjects. Inspired especially by 'Spione' but also by Contested Ground's 'Cold City' RPG, I decided to write about Cold War Berlin as a setting for British and American Spy Fiction. While researching this subject, it struck me how little it had been covered in academic discourse. This proved quite fortunate as it allowed me to concentrate on the source material at hand. So what I did was create a selection of 10 'representative' works of spy fiction set in Cold War Berlin, and look at how they dealt with their setting.

The professor of literature who had to grade my thesis came to the conclusion that I had struck gold with my choice of subject. Apparently, the urban environment in modern Crime/Spy Fiction has been in 'dire lack of academic treatment'. Therefore, he decided to publish a book with essays on this very topic, which is also to include an abbreviated (40-45 pages) version of my thesis (the original version has 114 pages), apart from other essays on, for example, ancient Rome in historical crime novels.

So why I am telling you this? Apart from wishing to thank Ron for 'Spione' and especially the Wiki, which had been tremendously useful to my endeavour and especially my selecting the right novels, I would also like to share my findings in the ongoing discussions here. I could also send a pdf of my thesis to anyone interested, but, as it is written in German, it won't be of any use to the majority of the forum users.